An Expedition to Sipalay: Day One

IMG_20160320_152114
We had never spent any time in Sipalay, Negros Occidental, so last weekend, 42 of us loaded up in a van and in 2 SUVs, heading south. We departed at 330am. Everyone was excited!

We made a stop at Ella’s Famous Coffee Shop in Valldolid for a cup of hot native coffee. By the time we reached Kabankalan, the half way point in our journey, it was time for a CR/Restroom break. In short order, it was time to saddle up and continue south!

There is a stretch of road in the mountains, between Kabankalan and Sipalay, which reminds me of the Pacific Coast Highway in California. As you look down to your right, you can view the sea. Excellent view from up on high of the sea down below.

IMG_20160319_084935
Tired on Arrival

Yes, I was! We checked in the Jamont Hotel in Sipalay, which I consider a nice hotel. Not a 5 Star but a Good Star! We ordered a pizza in the hotel restaurant, I had a beer and the planners of our group met to map out our day and evening. After that, I was ready for a much needed afternoon nap. I was to meet an expat from UK, a fellow Living in the Philippines3 Group Member, and his lovely lady at 3pm at the hotel.

Our son was enjoying swimming in the hotel pool. My wife enjoyed talking to the others in our Expedition to Sipalay.

I woke up from my afternoon nap at 2pm and I was ready for Merienda. I ordered Chicken and Pork Adobo from the hotel restaurant. It was much better than the pizza!

I greatly enjoyed talking to my new friend, my fellow Living in the Philippines3 Group Member. My wife greatly enjoyed talking to her new friend, his lovely lady. Time flies when you are having a good time and after a couple of hours of talking, our new friends had to leave, as they had other things planned for the evening.

The Nightlife is a Good Life!

First stop was at Mixed Food Restaurant in the Sipalay Waterfront area. It is operated by a French National and you can easily find it by the mall replica of the Eiffel Tower out front, made of bamboo. I ordered the American Hamburger and it was Triple Stack! It was a great burger, to say the least. The sound system across the way was warming up and we were told that a live band would perform around 930pm. It sounded good to us!

We went back to the Jamont Hotel and joined our friends for a beachfront cook out. Fish, octopus and chicken were the fare. Very gooda!

Before we knew it, time to go listen to the live band was upon us.

I really enjoyed the band. It was one of the better bands I have listened to in the Philippines! The male lead singer also played the saxophone. The female vocalist was also very good. They really energized the crowd of several hundred people at the waterfront. Great Entertainers, as many Filipinos are. We were happy!

It’s a Good Night For Singing After Midnight

We went to Topaz Bar in the same area of the waterfront and sang karaoke until about 4am. There were about 12 of us singing. I found many good songs on the playlist of Topaz. “Load Out/Stay” by Jackson Browne is one song not commonly found in karaoke bars in the Philippines but Topaz had it. Of course, I had to sing it.

Several in our group of Blues Travelers live in Manila and we do not often get to spend time with them. Singing together was a great way to spend time with them. That’s exactly what we did!

We were the first to come and the last to leave. We could have sang even longer but we had a trip planned, after sleeping, to Sugar Beach.

My article is Day One of our Expedition to Sipalay. My Day Two article will soon follow. Look for it!

In the meantime, I hope to see you one day, somewhere…all around Bacolod.

Your Amigo,

~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

