Ronald Reagan and Nancy Reagan in the Philippines

reagan-marcos
The big news of the day is the passing of Nancy Reagan at age 94. It is sad but I am happy that Nancy finally rejoined Ronnie, who she missed every moment since he passed away. I think it is well known about the strong love that Ronnie and Nancy had for each other. Nancy was also the President’s closet adviser.

In 1969, then Governor of California Ronald Reagan and Nancy Reagan visited Manila, as he admired the fight against Communism of then President Marcos. Imelda Marcos threw parties for the Reagan’s. The 2 couples became close friends for many years. It is reported that Nancy often spoke to Imelda on the phone to get an update of the situation in the Philippines, after the terrible assassination of Ninoy Aquino.

Fast forward to 1984. President Reagan conceded to put pressure on Marcos to reform his regime in the Philippines, which had become a powder keg.

Once EDSA was underway in 1986, President Reagan offered Ferdinand and Imelda Marcos to go to America. Imelda reportedly started singing, “New York, New York,” but they actually went into exile in Hawaii. A much better choice, in my opinion. Marcos was told in Feb, 1986, “I think you should cut and cut cleanly. I think the time has come.” The Reagan Admin assisted the Marcos entourage of 60 to go to Hawaii. The rest is history.

I remember these events like they were yesterday. In 1986, I was moving to the Philippines and I wanted to make sure that it would be safe for me. My eyes were on the Philippines, as daily events unfolded. I made it and lived in Manila for one year, until 1987.

A bit of of history and the role the late Nancy Regan and President Ronald Reagan played in the Philippines.

I hope to see you one day, somewhere…all around Bacolod.

Your Amigo,

~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

