7 Sandwiches That Bring Me Happiness in the Philippines

Italian_Sausage_Sandwich
Sandwiches are not as popular in our area of the Philippines, among Filipinos, as in large cities and certainly not as popular as in my area of the USA. An excellent made sandwich is a complete meal for me. Kettle style Potato Chips as a side is enough to complete my meal.

The Clubhouse Sandwich wins hands down if ordering sandwiches in Bacolod restaurants, among Filipinos. Not my favorite at all. In many Filipino homes, Lady’s Choice Sandwich Spread is most popular in our area. There is the Original Sandwich Spread, which is pickle relish and mayonnaise. There is also Chicken Spread, Bacon Spread, Ham Spread and Tuna Spread. Personally, I prefer making sandwiches without using commercial spreads in a jar.

There are several Delis in Bacolod, where you can build your sandwich with what you like. I have found going this route, you are paying about P260 for a deli sandwich, which is not the size of a 6 inch sub. Much smaller and made on toasted whole wheat or white sandwich bread. You are even charged for mayo, mustard, for each pickle, etc. Been there, done that and don’t care doing it again!

Delicioso has a nice BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich and a Fish Po Boy Sandwich, both under P200. They are good but not as good as what I make at home. I buy the Italian or French style bread at Delicioso to make sandwiches at home. P40 per long loaf.

Home Style Deli Sandwiches

I use different sausages to make my favorite sausage sandwich. Debreziner, Polish, Italian, Paprika, Louisiana Hot Links and Andouille Sausages. All are made locally by German nationals, other than the Hot Links and Andouille, which are imported from Louisiana. I already had a Paprika Sausage Sandwich this evening and I am still stuffed!

The Cuban Midnight Sandwich is another all time favorite that I make in the Philippines. Ham, pork loin or thin cut pork chops, mustard, Swiss Cheese if you can find it but for sure, good quality cheese, and dill pickles.

A Crab Salad Sandwich is easily prepared in the Philippines. I have never seen Conch here to make Conch Salad Sandwiches and I really prefer Lobster Salad Sandwiches but lobster is not common in our area. We had a whole lobster 8 days ago for the first time in 7 years! Crab meat, chopped celery, chopped green onion, coarse salt, cracked black pepper, a bit of lemon or calamansi juice and mayonnaise. A great Crab Salad sandwich.

Po Boy 2
A Po Boy. I use deep fried breaded butterfly shrimp or deep fried breaded Cream Dory fish fillets to make my Po Boy Sandwich. I use my own homemade tarter sauce and Trappey’s Bull Original Louisiana Hot Sauce on my Po Boy. I usually put Cole slaw on my Po Boys but lettuce and tomato will work for me as well.

Be Creative with Sandwich Making

A Reuben Sandwich. The best corned beef I can find is LIbby’s Corned Beef, product of Brazil. If I go the route of the near to classic Reuben, I use Libby’s corned beef, quality cheese, mustard, sauerkraut, and horseradish. Sometimes, I use homemade Thousand Island Dressing but not normally. Sauerkraut is available in Bacolod. German sauerkraut in jars or Bush’s canned sauerkraut.

A Rachel Sandwich. This is a variation of the Classic or near to Classic Reuben. I buy Pastrami at Cafe Bob’s Deli. I use the same ingredients as the Reuben, only I use Cole slaw instead of sauerkraut.

For my 7th sandwich, should I go with the Japanese Tuna Salad Sandwich with Wasabi or should I go with the BLTA, Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato and Avocado? Both are great, as is a BBQ Pork or Beef Sandwich. I won’t go wrong with any of them.

Everyday is National Sandwich Day at our house but I am the only one usually eating a sandwich.

I hope to see you one day, somewhere…all around Bacolod. In the meantime, make yourself a sandwich and have a cold one for me. Will ya?

Your Amigo,

~ Gary ~

One thought on “7 Sandwiches That Bring Me Happiness in the Philippines

  1. My favorite is prime rib on rye with a little mayo and mustard lettuce tomato sweet pickle , I could go one but that’s enough. Nothing like a good snack Gary

Leave a Reply

