Best Beef and Pork in Bacolod

T-Bone-steak-Grilling
Some expats in the Philippines value the beef they buy much more than others. They do not think twice about spending P1,500 for an imported American steak at the supermarket. I am not in this category. It is not important to me.

I didn’t move here expecting to find US Beef but it is available. More common at SM Supermarket is Australian Beef and while cheaper than US Beef, it is still pricey. I have been disappointed a number of times with the beef sold as Australian Beef. The exception was Beef Brisket but that is not exactly a prime cut, yet it was better than Rib Eye!

Other than in canned corned beef, I have not seen actual beef cuts from Argentina, Brazil or New Zealand.

I am still happy with the Monterey brand Porterhouse and T-Bone Steaks. P240 is about the average price for a large Monterey brand Porterhouse Steak. I marinate the steak several hours with pineapple juice before grilling and I never had one steak turn out tough.

Wagyu Beef is available in our area but the price is off the charts!

I avoid the local beef sold in public markets. Always too tough. It is a waste of money unless you want to feed the dogs. I also avoid the pseudo-steak houses. Been there, done that a few times and was always very disappointed.

Bahamas Meat Shop

My favorite place to buy pork in Bacolod is at Bahamas Meat Shop, located on Tindalo Avenue next door to Hua Kong Chinese Pharmacy. A German national is now making wonderful sausage and German style ham at Bahamas.

We shopped at Bahamas Meat Shop yesterday and loaded up for a family barbecue at our home. We bought Pork Steak and Pork BBQ Steak. Wow! Everyone enjoyed the grilled pork steaks last evening.

I also restocked with the Debrecener Sausage. It is really among the best sausage available in Bacolod, in my opinion. It is the real deal!

debrecan_sausage
There are other sausages available at Bahamas, including the new Curry Sausage but we have not tried that one yet. Bratwurst is available.

There are ham roasts, pork chops and many other fine cuts of pork at Bahamas Meat Shop and I highly recommend your shopping there.

I hope to see you someday, somewhere…all around Bacolod!

Your Amigo,

~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

