Kick Up Your Noche Buena

Noche Buena2
Only 7 more days and counting down to Noche Buena. In the Philippines, the traditional Christmas dinner at midnight is the Noche Buena.

My wife still hasn’t completed the menu list, however, I added a new item to my list.

Fresh Crown Pork Roast was in the SM Meat Dept, so I bought a section. P240 per kilo. If others in the family are interested, I will go back and buy one more section. If not, I will enjoy the pork roast with homemade gravy.

I am only one among many Filipinos but I do add my own dishes to enjoy for Noche Buena. I am all for sharing but I need to know in advance if they are interested in certain items. I already know many dishes that Filipinos in my family are not too keen on.

Italian Beef Sandwiches with fried onions and deli peppers would not go over well at all. Neither will the DAK Pate de Foi with green olives on hard toast triangles. I will also leave off the Antipasto Tray.

Many, if not most, Filipinos enjoy traditional Noche Buena Food. Lechon (Roast Pig), Quezo de Bola (Cheese Ball), Ham, Pork and Chicken BBQ, Fruit Cocktail, Pinoy style Spaghetti, Macaroni Salad, Leche Flan, Sotanghon Noodle Soup, Pancit Bihon, Pancit Canton and Hamonado, which is pork or chicken cooked in pineapple juice. Of course, there are many more traditional Noche Buena Foods.

My wife prepares 2 types of Spaghetti. Filipino style and Italian style.

Christmas Chicken Curry, garnished with sliced green and red bell peppers add the Christmas colors. It is well enjoyed.

Crispy Tadyang is another big hit. First, you must boil the ribs in spice and herb water to tenderize them. Next, you roll the ribs in cornstarch and deep fry until crispy. Serve with vinegar, smashed garlic and sili peppers for dipping sauce.

Beer and Red Wine for beverages. Forget Tanduay. For something different, you could introduce Tapuey Igorot Rice Wine. It is bottled and sold commercially in finer stores. Sangria is my favorite red wine, which is a fruity wine. Tropical Wine made with bignay or duhat are also great. Federico Tropical Wine is made in our area, in Victorias City, and sold all around the Philippines.

My family and I are wishing you a very Merry Christmas.

I hope to see you one day, somewhere…all around Bacolod

Your Amigo,

~ Gary ~

One thought on “Kick Up Your Noche Buena

Leave a Reply

