EZ Chicken Recipes in the Philippines

indonesian-chicken
Personally, I really enjoy eating chicken and I have as long as I can remember. There are so many diverse dishes that you can prepare with chicken, as the sky’s the limit. I am not a big fan of Chicken Curry but I will eat it. Actually, I prefer Curry Goat!

Food is always a hot topic among the expat community in the Bacolod area. I, for one, am a Hunter and a Gatherer. I am always on the Hunt for new food items to buy and new recipes to prepare.

In my article today, I have listed just a few of my favorite and EZ to prepare chicken recipes. All the ingredients to prepare these wonderful chicken dishes are available in Bacolod City. No fear!

*Chicken Adobo is a staple in many areas of the Philippines and it is not difficult to prepare at home. Cut up the chicken or buy the actual adobo cut, which is relatively available. You will need white vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, bay leaves and black pepper. I prefer peppercorn.

I don’t brown the chicken first. I put the chicken in a wok or similar cooking utensil. Add the vinegar, soy sauce, smashed garlic, peppercorn and bay leaves. I make sure there is enough vinegar and soy sauce that won’t simmer out. It takes 20-30 minutes of simmering to complete Chicken Adobo. I prefer yellow rice but you can serve Chicken Adobo with plain white rice.

*Indonesian Ginger Chicken. When I am cooking, I don’t usually follow any set measurement of ingredients. For me, it is part of the fun in coming up with the right mix or the right formula to my personal taste. To make Indonesian Ginger Chicken, I make a marinade with honey, soy sauce, mashed garlic and grated ginger. It is best to marinate overnight but if you can’t wait, at least 6 hours, so best to plan this in advance.

After marinating, I place the chicken on a greased or lightly oiled baking pan, skin side up. I place the baking pan with the chicken in a preheated oven of 350F or about 177C degrees. Baking time will vary from oven to oven but you can figure on about 40 minutes. Keep an eye on the chicken to prevent burning on top, as some ovens in the Philippines will get hotter than the temp setting and some will not be truly 360F degrees. You can adjust the time accordingly.

Mo Chicken For Ya

*Honey Soy Garlic Chicken is a similar recipe to Indonesian Ginger Chicken. The preparation in the oven is the same. The marinade is a little different, as I use honey, soy sauce, mashed garlic and peppercorn.

When it comes to Southern Fried Chicken, I indeed like it fried after battering. Cooking battered chicken in a pressure cooker is KFC style but it takes a lot of cooking oil and it can be dangerous in the home kitchens. I stopped making this recipe upon my wife’s request!

*Oven Fried Chicken. Use your favorite chicken batter recipe, place chicken on a baking pan, skin side up, bake on 400F or 204C degrees. Depending on your oven, you should be eating in 20-30 minutes. At this temp setting, you should have crispy chicken.

Several foreigners in the Philippines told me that they can’t cook but I told them, “Yes, you can!” I have confidence that most anyone can prepare these EZ Chicken Recipes…if they want to.

Eating food you will enjoy is an important aspect of actually living in the Philippines, in my opinion.

I think it is about time that you head on out to the supermarket or to the local public market and load up on fresh whole chicken. If you don’t want to cut the chicken, feel free to buy cut up chicken. There is an actual adobo chicken cut, which is readily available most everywhere.

I hope to see you one day, somewhere…all around Bacolod.

~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

