Groover’s Paradise

Groover
Where I live in the Philippines, it is indeed a Groover’s Paradise. There is pretty much something for everyone. For every groover who enjoys beautiful vibrations!

Nice beaches, fishing, the mountains, hot springs, a midsize city with just about anything you would want and rural farmland. Yes, there is an airport and you can fly anywhere you want. All around the world and back again!

What is a Groover?

I am a groover and I have been a groover since way back in 1968. I know what’s happening, what’s going on in my community. I know what is interesting, fun, enjoyable and downright cool! I know where groovers don’t want to go as well. Stay away, Joe! From those areas in the city. No city is perfect.

You could say, it’s about a mover. Bacolod City isn’t California but it very well can be your Mendocina! It’s goodbye San Francisco and hello, Philippines! Many areas of the Philippines certainly are a Groover’s Paradise!

NIR

We are now officially known as NIR. Negros Island Region. Negros Occidental and Negros Oriental are on the same island but before, divided by Region. Western Visayas vs Central Visayas.

It doesn’t matter what is on paper, Groovers, I think our side of the island has the most to offer. Negros Occidental. We may not be the beast of the east but we are the best in the west!

Grrover Paradise
I miss my old friend Doug Sahm. Sadly, he passed away in 1999 in New Mexico. He was one hell of a Groover, I can tell you that. Like Doug, I also realized early on that music is Eclectic. I love to sing and I sing everyday. Not just the same ole, same ole. I can sing Blues, R&B, Soul, Country, Hard Rock, Soft Rock, Southern Rock, Country Rock, Easy Listening, Reggae, Latin, Jazz and whatever else there is!

It’s a Good Night for Singing!

I know the best places to sing in Bacolod City and in Cebu City. Old time Rock n’Roll? I am not part of an actual band but I am seriously thinking about putting one together! Even at age 60. Why not? This is a Groover’s Paradise! The band won’t be anything like “Slim and the Can’t Hardly Playboys!” Filipinos are some of the best musicians and singers in the world. You can believe that!

I knew several members of Lynyrd Skynyrd in Jacksonville, Florida. My all time favorite band and I sing all their songs. For the most part, I stopped enjoying the current pop music in the USA by 2000. What I hear nowadays is certainly not anything I enjoy, for the most part.

I like music and not just noise! Or gibberish!

Take care. I hope to see you one day, somewhere…all around Bacolod.

~ Gary McMurrain ~

Leave a Reply

