Year of the Horse: Golden Fortune

Chinese New Year
It’s Deja vu all over again! After spending 9 years in China teaching English, The Chinese New Year celebration is also celebrated in the Philippines. In fact, it was a national holiday! Bacolod City also has the 3-4 day Bacoladiat Festival, which is the Chinese New Year celebration in the city. This is Year of the Horse and I was born in the Year of the Horse. This is my lucky year! Kung Hei Fat Choy!

Chinese New Year
On Chinese New Year Day, my family and I, together with a family friend, went to Golden Fortune Chinese Seafood Restaurant. Golden Fortune is our favorite Chinese Restaurant in Bacolod and we have dined there many times since 2009. It is located on the side of Luxur Place Hotel, on the corner of Magsaysay and Lacson Extension.

Char Siu Pork
Char Siu Pork! This is one of my favorite Chinese dishes, which is Chinese roasted pork. I always order extra to take home, as this pork also makes fabulous BBQ pork sandwiches. I sometimes add a little Hunt’s Hickory BBQ sauce to kick it up a notch on a sandwich.

Hong Kong Noodles
This is a fabulous dish, Hong Kong fried noodles! The Hong Kong fried noodles are authentic, with crispy fried noodles, shrimp, mushrooms, carrots and cabbage. I spent many years in and out of Hong Kong and living in mainland China, while I was teaching English. My three months vacation each year was spent in the Philippines, where many local dishes are Chinese influenced.

Hong Kong Noodles
Plated Hong Kong fried noodles. I like adding table soy sauce to my noodle dishes and I did!

Yang Chow Fried Rice
Yang Chow Fried Rice! I am not a big fan of plain white rice but I enjoy fried rice. Shrimp fried rice, pork fried rice, chicken fried rice and beef fried rice rock the house. Bring it on!

Golden Fortune has a large selection of seafood but we often eat seafood at home, so we wanted to stick to the actual Chinese dishes. Duck, roasted chicken, pigeon and suckling pig are also on the menu, together with many other Chinese dishes. Check out Golden Fortune when you want to experience the taste of China in Bacolod City.

I hope to see you one day, somewhere all around Bacolod. Kung Hei Fat Choy!

~ Gary ~

http://www.retiringtothephilippines.com

 

Leave a Reply

