Thanksgiving in Bacolod City

Thanksgiving is not a holiday or a festival that is widely celebrated in our area of the Philippines. However, Filipinos with Americans in their family and Filipino-Americans, who spent years in the States, celebrate Thanksgiving.

The first three Thanksgivings we have lived in the Bacolod Area, we always bought a Butterball Turkey or a Norbest Turkey and had it prepared in the Filipino style, lechon turkey. The turkey was stuffed with lemongrass, other herbs and spices, placed on a bamboo pole and roasted over hot coals. Wow! Crispy skin, while tender and juicy on the inside.

This year, we decided to go with something a little different. Recently, I saw four imported hams from America for sale at SM Supermarket. Virginia American Tenderized Ham. It has been more than 12 years since I had an American ham, still intact on the bone. We bought the ham to have for our Thanksgiving Celebration on November 22, 2012.

Virginia Ham

This Virginia Ham was 2.4 kilos, which is a 5 pound ham.

Cooked Virginia Ham

The ham was precooked and we baked it about 90 minutes in the oven. The pineapple rings were added about half way through the baking process. My wife made a ham sauce to my taste, which is pineapple juice, brown sugar and Heinz yellow mustard.

Ham Sauce

Sweet Corn

Sweet Potatoes, aka Camote

Sweet corn on the cob and camote, sweet potatoes, are common Filipino snack foods everyday, so I raised a few eyebrows having them both for the Thanksgiving meal but these are two foods which were always staples at our home for Thanksgiving, when I was growing up. Sweet potatoes and corn are Thanksgiving foods!

We did have Bird, too, for Thanksgiving.

Baked Chicken Leg Quarters

We had a few Filipino friends over to share our Thanksgiving Celebration for a wonderful evening meal. Everyone enjoyed the Virginia Ham!

This was our 4th Thanksgiving Celebration in the Bacolod Area and every year, we have more and more to be thankful for. We are all healthy and blessed. My family and I are enjoying our lives everyday in Bacolod.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving in Bacolod City

  1. hi gary! happy thanksgiving! im giving you a complementary copy of the hunger games as a little thank you for reading my website.

    I also shopped and got your son a little something too!

    Can you please email me your complete home address and also please text it to 09328431462. (That’s my private number.)

    I’m wondering if youve eaten at the negros museum cafe? Now is a good time to go there since they have fresh made duck and lamb hams created for the organic festival.

    Martin 2

  2. Thank you much, Martin! We appreciate it and thank you for reading All Around Bacolod.

    We had a 13 hour brownout today and I was away from the computer the entire day, so I will text you my address on Monday, due to the late hour, for you, hehe. I am a night owl!

    We took my brother to the Museum Cafe when he visited us from Florida last January and we have been back a few times since then but not lately. Thank you for the tip about their duck and lamb.

Leave a Reply

