DIY Sliders (mini burgers) in Bacolod

Most organized blogs have a purpose, a mission, a vision, a goal or an objective and there is nothing wrong with having all of them. When I first started All Around Bacolod, my purpose was based on a number of conversations that I had with many expats over the previous ten years. Moving to and living in another country is not easy for some people and some people just never make the adjustment. There is a new culture, new languages, new climate and new food. Personally, I think those of us in the expat community, who have successful experiences, should help those who are struggling but without being pushy.

Retirees are often concerned about what they can do in the Philippines to fill their time, since they are no longer working. Others are not so adventurous and they prefer their own food rather than the local cuisine, so they are concerned if they can buy their favorite food items or their favorite ingredients to make their favorite food at home. Safety and security issues are a concern to all and, of course, the cost of living in the Philippines.

I enjoy sharing with others about all the things to see in do in the Bacolod Area and in Negros Occidental. I enjoy sharing with others the things that me and my family do on a regular basis. We are not rich but we have fun everyday without spending a lot of money. I enjoy passing along information about new restaurants and about where to buy certain things. Cooking and preparing food is a hobby of mine and I can create most any dish from the USA, which I enjoy eating, right here in Bacolod City. I enjoy Filipino food and I eat it often but I don’t eat it every meal and I don’t eat Filipino food everyday. Preparing and creating dishes I grew up eating in America and enjoyed eating into adulthood in the States is really part of the fun for me while living in the Philippines.

DIY! Do It Yourself is fun in the Philippines because some things from our home countries are just not available but you can Do It Yourself!

Sliders

One food item I had not eaten in more than 12 years is the mini burgers made famous by Krystal Restaurant in the southern part of the USA. Another fast food restaurant chain in the northern part of the USA made and sold the same style mini burgers and the name of those were “Sliders.” We referred to the mini burgers in our area as “Krystals.” The ground beef is supposed to be made into square shapes but that is not always easy to do at home, but I gave it my best shot. Some turned out better than others. The taste is the same no matter if they are not perfectly square!

I used ground round beef to make my sliders. I always have McCormick brand yellow mustard on hand in our home, together with several other of my favorite types of mustard, which are available at SM Supermarket. The pickles are Regal Select brand Kosher Hamburger Chips. They are dill pickles and I bought them at Shopper’s Pick, which is located across the street from Robinsons Place Mall on Lacson Street. A slider is just not a slider without finely chopped yellow or white onions. The local red onions will work if that is all you have on hand. The square shaped sesame buns are made by D’baker’s, which is readily available at SM Supermarket or at one of the D’Baker branch stores in Bacolod City.

D’baker’s Square Sesame Buns

There isn’t a Krystal Restaurant or a White Castle Restaurant in Bacolod City but you are not limited if you enjoy eating Krystals or Sliders. Just DIY! BTW, my beef patties are much thicker than the original size found on the sliders and Krystals in America. You can make them the way you like them, thick or thin burger patties.

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Sliders (mini burgers) in Bacolod

  1. That really brings back memories. We used to go to Krystal in Dallas back in the 60’s when we were in high school. I looked on the net, and they are still in business.

  2. Thank you for your comments, Bob. The mustard, the pickle and the onions really bring back the taste of a Krystal Burger. Krystal’s is still in business and 12 of the Krystal Burgers are $7.99 now. 24 Krystals are $13.99. I remember when they were still 25 cents each! Good memories.
    ~ Gary ~

  3. Thank you, Martin. The patties were well done, although I enjoy a medium grilled steak from time to time. Grilled at home and we make sure the grill and the tongs are clean. Dirty kitchen utensils and instruments can cause sickness as quickly as undercooked food in my opinion. Dirty cutting boards are also often a culprit. Thanks, again!

    ~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

