4th of July in the Philippines and a Submarine

Although the 4th of July is no longer the official Independence Day of the Philippines, it was July 4, 1946 when the Republic of the Philippines was born after their independence from the USA. The 4th of July is still celebrated by many in the Philippines as Filipino-American Friendship Day. Every year, the 4th of July has a special meaning to me since I am an American living in the Philippines. The 4th of July is also my dad’s birthday and he would have been 91 today!

A barbecue and fireworks were always part of our 4th of July celebration when I still lived in America. Today for lunch in the Philippines, I had grilled Buffalo Wings and to celebrate Filipino-American Friendship Day, I used Mama Sita’s brand Buffalo Wings Sauce. Yep, it is a product of the Philippines and let me tell you, Mama Sita’s Buffalo Wing Sauce is hot as hell!

A friend in America once told me that he could not live in the Philippines because he could not eat fish and rice everyday. He was surprised when I told him all the different wonderful restaurants there are in many areas of the Philippines that are serving much more than fish and rice and Bacolod City is no exception. I can also honestly say that I can buy most any food products that I want in one of the three major supermarket chain stores in Bacolod City. My wife, son and I enjoy dining out several times a week on average but we enjoy preparing food at home. After all the 4th of July BBQ, here is a good alternative for a late supper. A shrimp submarine sandwich.

Cole Slaw

Being a Southerner from the USA, I think Cole slaw is a staple with any kind of seafood. It has that special crunch and when served chilled, it is great when eating hot and spicy food. It seems almost everyone has their own recipe for Cole slaw and I won’t bore you with mine but simple ingredients can turn out a nice Cole slaw. Shredded cabbage, non-sweet mayonnaise, vinegar and ground Spanish paprika are my ingredients. Some like sweet Cole slaw so it is not a sin to add a little sugar. The ground Spanish paprika on top gives the Cole slaw a little color.

If you want to order a good Cole slaw while dining out, try Max’s Restaurant. In Bacolod, it is located in SM Mall. I have a special place in my heart for Max’s Restaurant “the house that fried chicken built.” Max’s Restaurant was one of the first restaurants where I dined on my first trip to the Philippines, way back in 1986! Max’s has been around since 1945 when the original owner served fried chicken to American GIs, right after WWII.

Deep Fried Shrimp

The plating may not look all that but hey, I am at home! Anyway, my wife Grace helped me out on this and fried up seven battered shrimp.

Good Bread

If you are going to make a sandwich, good bread is just as important as what you plan to put inside the bread. This particular submarine roll is one I cut from a long loaf of French Bread, which I bought at Cafe Bob’s.

Shrimp Submarine Sandwich

I couldn’t get all seven friend shrimp on the submarine sandwich but five is still a food number. I made my own tarter sauce using mayonnaise, a bit of vinegar, a little kalamansi juice, or local lime juice, and sweet pickle relish. I slathered the inside of the submarine roll with the homemade tartar sauce before adding the shrimp. I sometimes make and use my own cocktail sauce for this type sandwich and when I do, I don’t apply the cocktail sauce to the bread but rather add it on top of the shrimp.

Add the Chilled Cole Slaw

Next comes the added crunch to the submarine sandwich. Cole slaw.

Let’s Eat!

“Let’s eat” is very common to be heard in the Philippines right before eating and this shrimp submarine sandwich is ready to be eaten. It is fine to toast the bread in a toaster oven before building your sandwich and I enjoy doing that at times but not this time. I was hungry and ready to eat. The Cole slaw added enough crunch for me.

Beverage of Choice

Either red wine or an ice cold beer is the beverage of choice with the shrimp submarine sandwich. Tavernello Sangiovese Rubicone may not really be the Number One wine in Italy but it really is a product of Italy and it is available in Bacolod City. San Miguel Pilsen is my favorite beer in the Philippines.

I am wishing everyone a very Happy 4th of July Independence Day and Filipino-American Friendship Day celebration! I hope your day was as fun as ours.

7 thoughts on “4th of July in the Philippines and a Submarine

  1. Martin,
    My wife wanted to see me without my mustache and she says I look younger! This may be hard to believe but I had either a mustache or a full beard since 1974. Not a typo. I hardly know the man in the mirror!

  2. Wow!! Gary,

    Your 4th of July barbecue looked great!! Especially liked the looks of the shrimp and coleslaw sandqich. I gotta give that one a try soon. Jim Custer

  3. Thank you, Jim. The shrimp and Cole slaw sandwich is one of my favorites. I can make the same type sandwich with fried oysters but some people don’t eat oysters. We buy our oysters on Lower Lacson Street at the small oyster stand near the small bridge and they are still in the shells. They arrive fresh from Iloilo and those oysters are as good as the ones I used to eat in Apalachicola, Florida, home of the best oysters in Florida.

    ~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

