Mother’s Day In the Philippines

A single flower reminds me of my mother. Sadly, she passed away in 1981 after a prolonged illness but I never forget her.

Mother’s Day is a time that we can give special honor to our mom for their love, care and sacrifices while we were nurtured from a baby to adulthood.

Giving flowers, gifts, a homemade greeting card, a special Mother’s Day lunch or dinner are some ways that Mother’s Day is celebrated in the Philippines. Many mothers here have several children and some have many children. It is a time that all mothers can be surrounded by the love of their children and be appreciated. Mothers in the Philippines are most often regarded as the most important member of the family.

Teaching son to swim

One of the happy moments of childhood is when a child’s mother teaches them how to swim.

A Mother in thought

Mother’s Day is a time that I go out of my way to do special things for my wife, since my Mother has been long gone but her memories never pass away. My wife is also my best friend and she pampers when I am not feeling well, so in some respects, she also shows me motherly love but in a different way, of course.

Sadly, some children are estranged from their mothers and Mother’s Day is just another day to them. If this is the situation in your life, I hope this Mother’s Day will be a day of reconciliation. As long as Mothers are still alive, it is never too late to resolve the past and pave the way for a brighter future together in happiness.

I give special consideration for all Mothers around the world and may you be happy, blessed and in good health on Mother’s Day and during all the days ahead.

 


 

 

Leave a Reply

