Food in the Philippines

Philippine Cuisine is diverse and I could write a book about it based on my experience in the country. But, I am not going to do that here!

When I first visited the Philippines and lived here as an academic in 1986-1987, I had read and was told that the Philippine food was Chinese, Spanish and Malay influenced. There was a Shakey’s Pizza on Roxas Blvd that I enjoyed very much. It had pizza, spaghetti, draft San Miguel Beer and live rock bands at night. Not exactly Chinese, Spanish and Malay! 

Ma Mon Luk in Quezon City was my favorite Chinese Restaurant. The Aristocrat Restaurant on Roxas Blvd was one of my favorite Filipino restaurants in Manila back in those days. Back to the Future!

I moved to the Bacolod area 3 years ago and the Filipino food here is a little different from the fare in Manila but it is still food. Nowadays, we have Mexican, Thai, Korean, Middle Eastern, German, American style, Italian, Mediterranean and many other locally owned cuisine restaurants. We don’t have a Chili’s Bar and Grill or a Taco Bell or a Burger King. There is McDonald’s, Pizza Hut and KFC.

My wife and I enjoy preparing food at home but we still go out to restaurants several times a week. We thank all those Boyz from Bacolod Food Hunters for telling us about new places to go and eat when dining out. Way to go guys! Two thumbs Up!

I enjoy Japanese food but some of the Japanese restaurants leave a lot to be desired in our area, however, I have not tried them all.

This past week, I took a simple can of Century Tuna in oil and turned it into a nice delight!

I put the canned Century Tuna in the freezer for about 40 minutes to chill . In the mean time, I whipped up a Japanese style Mayonnaise. I used the non-sweet mayonnaise, about two tablespoons. I added one half tablespoon of wasabi paste from the tube, one tablespoon of soy sauce and one half tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. I mixed all together and put in the ref for about 30 minutes to chill. Japanese Mayonnaise.

I don’t really like boiled eggs in tuna salad but you can do that if you like. I opened the can of chilled Century Tuna and drained it especially well in a strainer, as I don’t want oil or much liquid in the tuna when making the tuna salad since it really becomes watery. The less oil left in the tuna, the better!

Tuna Bowl

I like to do things right and be authentic as possible.

One portion of tuna

Japanese Mayonnaise

Waiting to be mixed! The Japanese Mayonnaise and the tuna. I had this last night and munched on Skyflake saltine crackers, as I enjoyed eating the tuna salad. Will this work served over rice? You betcha! If you want to go that route. It will also work on a bed of lettuce and you can add mango slices, too. Now, that is a tropical delight right from the Philippines!

Food in the Philippines can be kicked up a few notches for creative flavor and your meal is only limited by your imagination.

 

 


 

4 thoughts on “Food in the Philippines

  1. Wow, thanks for the shout out. Our next article will be about SODAM korean restaurant. Have you been there? We’ve gone there and We have the pics but since I took a recent vacation to Dakak resort Mindanao, I’m resting a bit before writing the article. Probably will be up tonight or tomorrow.

    I like your tuna recipe! I’m so excited to try making wasabi-tuna mayo sandwiches! I’m the only one who liked the Beermatch wasabi flavored chips when it first came out. It was a huge shame they discontinued it since I can’t find it anymore in the market

    I agree the Tuna must be well drained and Jap Mayo goes well with everything. Have you been to the Korean grocery near riverside? They sell cheap cheap Jap mayo at 120 php and various korean spices and noodles.

    If you’re up for it, try making this simple Japanese summer treat, ZARUSOBA or chilled buckwheat noodles. All you need is ice, the noodles and the chilled dipping sauce (all readily available at the korean grocery). Just boil the noodles until cooked, then plunge immediately into a bowl with ice.

    Drain the noodles well then serve on a tray with shredded seaweed strips.

    Dip in the dipping sauce before eating!

    (Here’s my soba!!)

  2. You are welcome, Martin. I have passed on tips about restaurants to other Americans living in Bacolod, which I learned from Bacolod Food Hunters. I’ve been reading the reviews the past two years about restaurants in Bacolod City.

    I am glad you like my tuna recipe. I like most anything with wasabi and horseradish.

    We haven’t been to SODAM Korean Restaurant yet but they recently opened a branch at the PAGCOR Hotel and their older branch I have passed many times on Lacson Street but never stopped.

    I will have to check out the Korean grocery near Riverside.

    Thank you for sharing your recipe for Zarusoba. It looks good!
    Have a great week.

    ~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

