Healthy Juice

Healthy Green Juice

It is that time of the year again here in the Philippines! Summer Time. March 1 kicked off the summer season in our area. I remember back in my Flori-Days when I lived south of Miami and making a summer time juice in the old juicer or food processor was a real way to beat the heat. And stay healthy, too!

In the Philippines, there are many juices available in stores and in restaurants. Mango, pineapple, coconut, Four Seasons, are all common and there are many different juices made with multiple fruits.

Healthy green juice is one of my favorites but I also like the fruity juices for plain ole enjoyment.

I live in the Philippines, so I have a few more things at my disposal to make a healthy juice. The Healthy Green Juice is made from avocado, malunggay, cucumber, celery, lettuce and/or spinach and pineapple. If it is too thick, you can add coconut water.

The kinds of juice that you make is only limited by your imagination! Who knows? You may create a new rage of the age among those who enjoy drinking a healthy juice or drinking a juice just for the pure pleasure.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Healthy Juice

  1. Hi Gary, i love the simple, healthy recipe of fresh fruit juices made from home. DO you have a special Juicer from the U.S. or do you use just the regular blender for juicing? The Special Juicer can actually save some pulps or fiber from the fruit. I still have my $250 juicer here tucked in way back in my kitchen cabinet; I hardly ever use it now. I should take it out again and utilize it; after all, it is for good health & money saving becuase I do spend at least $3-4 bucks or so for one little 9-12 oz bottle from the store or Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods prices are even more expensive & so are at Sac Food Coop.

  2. Hi Beth,

    We use a heavy duty blender/food processor. There are a number of new juicers available on the market in the Philippines and there has been a demonstration of one brand the past few weeks in SM Mall but we did not buy it.

    I haven’t lived in the USA for 12 years now but I remember the late night ads with an elderly gentleman, with bushy white eyebrows, who promoted a juicer for sale. Especially good for making cantaloupe juice.

    A top selling juice these days in Bacolod is Del Monte’s Four Seasons, made with mango, pineapple, orange and guava blended juices.This can certainly be made at home for a lot less money if one has the equipment. If a person drinks a lot of juice, the blender.food processor/juicer will pay for itself in no time. I enjoy the homemade juices best because I can control the ingredients.

    There are a number of juice kiosks and food & drink carts in the malls of Bacolod: SM, Robinsons, Gaisano and 888 Chinatown Mall. They do carrot juice and many others. You can also mix and match and they will do what you like. Once again, this can be done at home, but when one is out shopping, it is good there are alternatives to Coca Cola. I can’t even tell anyone when I last had a Coca Cola in the Philippines. There are just many other good drinks around. Now, that I posted this, I am thinking about an ice cold Coca Cola in the 12 ounce bottle and how good it tastes, LOL. So, I will probably drink one next time out and about.

    Take care,

    ~ Gary ~

Leave a Reply

