El Taco

I can’t say that I am a Taco Man from Macho Land but tacos are one of my favorite foods. I can buy the Old El Paso brand taco shells at SM and my wife and I can turn out some very good tacos at home. Yes, we even have our own jalapeno peppers to kick it up a notch. I prefer a beef taco and I also like a chicken taco but I never cared much for a fish taco. I can tolerate a Century Corned Tuna Taco in the place of chicken and beef.

Since Fat Boys was closed last Sunday at lunch time, we hit Trey’s Restaurant instead in Bacolod City. It is located right across the street from the newest and very large Shakey’s on Lacson Street. Crave Burger is also across the street.

Trey’s is pretty famous in Bacolod among expats for their chicken fried steak, which is actually beef and I think they refer to it as country fried beef steak on the menu. Same thing as chicken fried steak, which is not chicken at all but only beef that is fried like chicken. It is battered beef, deep fried and topped with gravy, served with mashed potatoes with the skin still on. The price is P270 at Trey’s.

Not because I am cheap but I decided to try the steak taco at Trey’s last Sunday for a change of pace. Only P99. I was not disappointed. Lots of steak strips and very little lettuce and tomato as filler. The salsa is homemade and not hot and spicy. Ask for some Tabasco Sauce to kick it up a notch if you like it hot! Trey’s steak taco has nice melted cheese on top. It is served with a small portion of nachos and homemade salsa.

El Taco

Looks great, doesn’t it? It is not a perfect taco but one of the best I’ve had in Bacolod.

I am not sure how well a taco wagon would work in Bacolod but it would be nice if there was one. A different kind of food cart. A taco wagon.

Now, I can stand the heat of the kitchen and I know how to cook and prepare food. You gotta have a good, hard taco shell to make tacos. I use Old El Paso brand, which is available at SM Supermarket, most of the time, as is ALL the ingredients needed to make a very good taco. My tacos include ground beef and shredded chicken. McCormick Taco Seasoning added to the beef and chicken when cooking.

But first, saute some chopped onions and bell peppers, too, if you like. Add the ground beef and shredded chicken and cook all together until no red juices are evident. To save time, have a jar of Old El Paso Taco Sauce or Salsa on hand. Pace Salsa will work, too.

To load the taco, I put the beef and chicken first, together with the sauteed onions and  peppers, then I add the taco sauce or salsa Good shredded cheese is required on top but it does not have to be pre-melted. An original taco is like an original sandwich in that you can add what you like. I also like sour cream or cream cheese on my tacos. I also like jalapeno peppers. I don’t like lettuce and certainly not shredded cabbage on my tacos but I can tolerate a few chopped tomatoes. A slather of refried beans is also good on your taco but hard to find in Bacolod. Old El Paso makes canned refried beans and I have bought them at SM but not available year round.

Some other restaurants try to copy Taco Bell but their product is more like Taco Hell! The taco falls apart in your hands when trying to eat it. Not fun. I really think making your own tacos at home is more fun. However, for sure, Trey’s Steak Taco is a good one if you want tacos out.


6 thoughts on “El Taco

  1. Hi there! Sir, can I have your first name at least so I can address you properly in our future interactions?🙂
    From writing about visiting places, you are now writing about food. I’m happy to see here that you are blogging regularly. Keep it up, and continue enjoying our country.

  2. Hi there. My name is Gary and you are Mark, right? Nice meeting you.

    Thank you for your compliments. I will continue promoting the Philippines and especially our area in Bacolod and Negros Occidental. It is a great place to visit and a great place to live; also a good place to raise children.

  3. Doctor retovado!! You commented here too! LOL!

    anyway my two cents… YES, it is extremely hard to find REFRIED beans in Bacolod. I love a good burrito and i gotta have my jalapenos and refried beans…

    • Lawyers say, “where there is a Will, there is a law suit,” but I like “where there is a will, there is a way,” much better!

      SM sells dried pinto beans, located near the rice section. It takes a little work but refried beans are not difficult to make at home. A pressure cooker is ideal to cook the beans quickly and tender. Saute diced onions and garlic in a skillet or wok with oil to be fried with the beans.

      Once the beans are cooked in the pressure cooker, put them in the skillet or wok, mash them while cooking with a potato masher, or with whatever you may have to improvise, A hammer may be over kill. Mashing them until they are like a puree is what you want to do. Adding a little water from the pressure cooker, where the beans were cooked, will keep them from getting dry and add flavor. Adding grated cheese will also add to the flavor of the rebeans if you like.

      I still haven’t found any canned refried beans lately, so it is about time to make my own.

Leave a Reply

