Sing For Happiness

I have been a fan of karaoke since 1993, when I still lived in Florida. It is a big time favorite thing to do in Philippines and our area, All Around Bacolod, is no different. Singing for happiness.

Sometimes, to make things interesting, we have a singing competition with P100 prize for the best scores, just to make things interesting but most of the time, we just sing for happiness. No gambling involved, as I post the P100 prize and sometimes I win! Most of the time, we don’t care what score we get on the Magic Mic, as we just sing because we like the song and we like to be happy! Happy Everyday!

Singing For Happiness

Me singing and my brother Bobby doing a James Brown impersonation

Singing for happiness is a family affair. It does not matter how off key anyone sings, as what matters is that people among family and friends are having fun and enjoying themselves.

 

Family Fun

My youngest brother in law enjoys singing soft rock and ballads. Sometimes, he sings very well and other times, he cracks people up for laughs. It is all fun.

 

Soul Time

Singing is good for the soul. Self expression, as my youngest brother in law gets into his song.

I think most people have songs that they can relate to in their lives. Being able to sing those songs brings joy. Singing the oldies brings back past times in one’s life. It takes the person back to different times in their lives and most often those times were happy times. I enjoy singing songs by Ray Charles, Elvis, Roy Orbison, The Beatles, Buddy Holly, Fats Domino, Jerry Lee Lewis and others, as those are songs I grew up with when my parents were still vibrant and younger. Life was really simple back then.

Rock on! Who doesn’t like to rock and roll a little bit? I know I do. Singing the Rolling Stones is great! I have my own impersonation of Mick Jagger. I also like singing the songs of John Cougar Mellencamp. “Hurt So Good,” which is not a sad songs. No sad songs for me. Even in church, I like the uplifting songs and the faster, upbeat Gospel songs are what uplifts me. Celebrate, Jesus, Celebrate! The Holy Ghost Power!

It’s a good night for singing!

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

